A long lost love affair

When I got married I was asked whether I was going to make a speech and I instantly said no, I’ve never been much of a public speaker and the thought terrified me. But the more I thought about it the more it seemed a shame not to say something, that was when I decided to put my thoughts down on pen and paper (well computer and paper) instead.

A word from the Bride,

 I think as a society we’ve forgotten how to be romantic, we are either too busy, too preoccupied or too lazy; or we find that we resort to grand displays of affection better suited to a movie. But that isn’t what romance is about.

 It’s about the unexpected hugs, the little glances across a room, the ‘I love you’ before leaving the house. These are the things that a solid marriage is made from.

 The era that I feel best portrays this is the one I’ve tried to channel today, the 1940s. It was a hard time in every sense but people never gave up on romance.

 Let’s be honest, everyone loves a handwritten letter coming through their door, so imagine how it must have felt to receive one from a loved one during the midst of war.

 Books are written about this dying art, The Notebook, Atonement; their love depends on these written declarations of love. They are tokens you can carry with you in your breast pocket, close to your heart. They can be read and reread until the paper wears thin and the ink smudges in the heat of your finger tips. They carry the scent of the person you love most in the world.

 But best of all they aren’t expensive, they aren’t showy, they are just honest and that’s what I want from my marriage.

 

I have always loved the idea of letter writing, the thought of my great grandchildren leafing through a box of dusty old love letters is enthralling to me and let’s face it it’s far more romantic than them reading through old text messages.

A letter always seemed to me like immortality because it is the mind alone without corporeal friend Emily Dickinson

But it seems that it is now a dying art and our love affair with pen and paper is ending, so I challenge you to write a letter to the one you love bearing your feelings, unreserved, and give your great grandchildren something to aspire to.

 

  Let us be inspired

“I drank no coffee since I left you, nor intend till I see you again, there is none worth drinking but yours”

Jonathan Swift 1721-

“Be with me always – take any form – drive me mad! only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! it is unutterable! I can not live without my life! I can not live without my soul!”

 – Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights-

 “I would love to say that you make me weak in the knees, but to be quite upfront and completely truthful, you make my body forget it has knees at all.

-Tyler Knott Gregson-

2 thoughts on “A long lost love affair

  1. I love this Hannah, and very right you are. Although I would have to add that it might not always be the case that we have forgotten to be romantic – but instead become far too comfortable to consider the thought of it, after all relationships do become far too comfortable.

    It is nice though when you do make your loved ones smile, when you see them fill with love and happiness.

    I believe it is a time to write a letter. Pen to paper, like the good old day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

