Romeo and Juliet Wedding

I came across a notebook the other day which contained a poem I wrote around eight or so years ago which was based on William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Today being national poetry day I thought I’d share it with you along with this weeks wedding inspiration.

  Romeo’s Rose

In crimson in thy lips and in thy cheeks,

I see my wounded foe,

But in our holy palmer’s kiss,

I see my daunted rose.

Oh, sweet eastern sun,

In solemn slumbers flame,

I perceive a lurid vision,

A delusion of our pain,

I see my lady, I see my love,

As our star-crossed passion blooms,

Thou art the young of my despised,

Birthed from the sacred virgin’s womb.

Leave a Reply

