The history of the Pencil Skirt

 02fc973e7e16d72e934f5e2650802bc7Recently I’ve found myself becoming more and more drawn to the pencil skirt, I have several in my wardrobe and since having my youngest son I finally feel I’ve found a shape that works for me.

They are a staple part of my wardrobe and can be dressed up with a sheer shirt or worn casually with a t shirt; but however it is worn one thing is for certain, the Pencil Skirt gives you confidence.

With the likes of Mad Men and Master’s of Sex dominating our Netflix accounts the sex appeal of the Pencil Skirt is still as evident today as when it was first donned.

The pencil skirt was first conceptualized in the 19th century with the brief trend of the Hobble Skirt, it wasn’t until 1954 that the classic skirt as we know it today was introduced. The Pencil Skirt was brought to life by Christian Dior as part of his 1954 A/W collection and was intended to be a move away from his 1940s ‘New Look’.

Since then it has put the wiggle into the stride of many influential women such as Grace Kelly, Marilyn Monroe, Dita Von Teese and Paloma faith.

Leave a Reply

