Graphic Designer Sarah Wood

Graphic Designer Sarah Wood interview Rising out of  the Ocean Blog Dilly and the Boo Hannah Earnshaw  Graphic Designer Sarah Wood interview Rising out of the Ocean Blog Dilly and the Boo Hannah EarnshawGraphic Designer Sarah Wood interview Rising out of  the Ocean Blog Dilly and the Boo Hannah Earnshaw (2)Graphic Designer Sarah Wood interview Rising out of the Ocean Blog Dilly and the Boo Hannah EarnshawGraphic Designer Sarah Wood interview Rising out of the Ocean Blog Dilly and the Boo Hannah EarnshawGraphic Designer Sarah Wood interview Rising out of the Ocean Blog Dilly and the Boo Hannah EarnshawNew blood is an important part of the graphic design profession, it’s an opportunity to explore new concepts and get a fresh perspective. With more and more people opting to study in this competitive field it’s always interesting to see what these new graduates can achieve. Sarah Wood who has recently graduated with a Bachelor in Communication Design from Otago Polytechnic New Zealand is just one of those striving to make it as a designer.

Your work has obvious Urban and Rural influences, where do you get your inspiration from?

My urban influences were inspired by my love for city’s culture and modern architecture, while my rural influences were inspired by the outdoors-particularly my hometown Queenstown. I have a significant interest in the environment as I was always encouraged as a child to spend my time outdoors. I believe that has had an influence on who I am as a person, but also on my style of designing.

What is the most important thing your course has taught you?

I believe the most useful thing I’ve taken from my course is to communicate as much as possible with people. I’ve learnt over my three years of studying, that it is important to pick people’s brains- whether it be that you want to learn something or ask a favour. I would never have achieved my end goal without reaching out and communicating. You never know till you ask.

Can you talk us through your design process?

I have a very organized process which I follow through for each of my projects, to maintain a clear and ordered development of work. I start by creating a clear brief, outlining the specifications and summarized purpose of the project. I research existing relevant work to inspire me, then I let all my ideas out on paper through scribbling notes and pictures, proceeding to develop the best idea to a finished design. Throughout my whole process, I research on Pinterest regularly for inspiration and motivation.

What has been your favourite project to date?

I would say my self – branding has been my favourite and most effective project so far. This was a great chance to discover and develop my style and design philosophy and reflect it in a representative way.

Which designers inspire you?  

I have a wide range of designer influences but one of my most favourites would have to be Sagmeister and Walsh. I love the beautiful and playful nature of their work, which has taught me not to be too serious in my work and to create designs that my audience will enjoy and remember.

 Where do you hope your degree will take you?

My big dream is to become a professional Graphic Designer in Australia working for either a big Design Agency or a fashion brand. My course only really started me off with my learning, I still have a lot to learn through my current and future design careers. However, each job is a step closer to that big dream.

 

Leave a Reply

